• (+233) (0) 303 937 222
    (+233) (0) 54 406 0160



The Effutu Municipal Assembly is one of the 216 Administrative Districts in Ghana and one of the 20 districts in the Central Region. The Assembly was established by the Local Government Act (Act 462) and by L.I.1860 in 2007. Winneba, is the administrative capital. The Effutu Municipal Assembly was carved from the then Awutu-Effutu-Senya-District Assembly. There are four Zonal Councils in the Municipality namely; 1. Nsuekyir/Gyahadze Zonal Council, 2. Kojo-Beedu North/Low Cost Zonal Council, 3. South-East Winneba Zonal Council and 4 South West Winneba Zonal Council. The Municipal Assembly is made up of twenty-eight Assembly persons and this comprises; the Municipal Chief Executive, Eighteen (18) Elected members, Eight (8) Government Appointed members and one (1) Member of Parliament. 

It is boarded by Gomoa East District Assembly on its Western, Northern and Eastern flanks. On the Southern flank is the Gulf of Guinea. 

Assembly Members (26)
Elected (18)
Appointed (8)

The main agricultural activity in the Municipality is fishing carried out along the coast of Winneba, Nsuekyir, Warabeba and Akosua village. It is mainly marine fishing done by motorized canoes. The other sources are lagoons and rivers. There are 360 registered canoes of which 245 are outboard motors. The rainfall pattern do not favour cash crops such as cocoa, oil palm and citrus however it is suitable for vegetable such as; tomatoes, okro, groundnuts, garden eggs and pepper. The application of appropriate farming technologies and good timing also facilitate the cultivation of other crops including cassava and maize. Livestock farming is mostly done on extensive system with few engage in the intensive system.


Other Related Links

Other Related Links